Thread: DVA(Developmental Venous Anomaly)

New Community Member

Default DVA(Developmental Venous Anomaly)

Hello.....
    Just an update on my sons condition. His 2nd MRI showed a Developmental Venous Anomaly. Neurologist told us that not a whole lot is known about these. Has anyone on here ever heard of these? And have they ever caused you to have seizures? My son is a generally healthy 12 yr old who began having gelastic seizures. He is currently on Keppra and Trileptal. Any info would be appreciated. Thanks so much!

Jess.

Distinguished Community Member

Jess, I have no experience with this which prompted me ot look it up. I'm sure you've done the same. What experience I can share with you is that my daughter has a very rare brain disease called moyamoya. I found that the best thing I could do for her was to find an expert in this particular disease. All Dr.s seem to be very micro specialized now so with the internet it's easy to find and contact a dr. Most will be willing ot look at scans and offer their opinion and advice and if close enough and convenient for you see your son. When I looked quick I found this hospital claimed to be experts. http://www.childrenshospital.vanderb...s.php?mid=9178
    Further investigations may find others that may be more convenient. This may be a place to start and they may even be able to reccomend another, especially since your son is having seizures. I hope you can get some answers.Please keep us posted.
    Mary Grace

Distinguished Community Member Earth Mother 2 Angels's Avatar
    Blog Entries

((((((Jess))))))

Like Mary, I am unfamiliar with DVA's, so I also looked it up. From my brief reading on it, it appears that there is no treatment for DVA per se, only for the symptoms, such as seizures.

Is your son seeing a pediatric epileptologist? Perhaps you could do a search for one in your area, if he isn't seeing one. These docs are experts in epilepsy in children.