Thread: Social Security benefits to increase by 2% in 2018

Distinguished Community Member agate's Avatar
    Blog Entries

Default Social Security benefits to increase by 2% in 2018

Social Security benefits will increase by 2% as of the first of the year. This came from the AARP:

https://www.aarp.org/retirement/soci...7pSCiiMW8zrHs=
    MS diagnosed 1980. Avonex 2002-2005. Copaxone 6/07 - 5/10.
    Member of this MS board since 2001.

2. The following 6 users say "thanks"

Distinguished Community Member Howie's Avatar

Cool

I guess it's time to give Sam an allowance.
    Roswell was a gift.

4. The following 5 users say "thanks"

Distinguished Community Member

But the increase will be swallowed up by the increase in health care costs...
    ...I am not a doctor nor medical professional, and don't pretend to be one, here... :o

6. The following 6 users say "thanks"

Cat, that is true. I have already received notice that my Medicare Supplemental policy is going up. More than it ever has at one time. I wonder if Medicare Part B that is taken out of our SS is also going up. Anyone know?
    Virginia

8. The following 4 users say "thanks"

Distinguished Community Member Cherie's Avatar

My part D is going from $63/month to $14/month so I will see a bit more of my SS payment than I have been. Dave is going on Medicare December 1 so his insurance of $1011/month (with $1000 deductible plus copays) will come down to about $280/month. We have an AARP United Health part F policy that costs us each $130/month and does away with ALL copays. It will be phased out in 2018 but those already in it can continue with that coverage for another 8 years. Met with our insurance guy yesterday.

10. The following 6 users say "thanks"