Thread: Psychedelics and depression

Distinguished Community Member Sherman Peabody's Avatar
    Blog Entries

Default Psychedelics and depression

-----

My depression (and addiction): All gone

My whole life, I've always been a well-liked person. I did well academically, athletically, and socially. Last year, I graduated high school in the top of my class and am now at what can be considered the number one school in my state. When I ventured off to school and moved out of my house, my girlfriend of 4 years broke up with me. I was in love, I was confident and I had always been confident that we were going to get married and have a family. Then me, the popular kid that everyone thought had all of his **** together, broke down. I started using cocaine recreationally with my fraternity brothers, a few times a month, almost right when I got off to school. Then my girlfriend broke up with me, and I became severely depressed and started using upwards of a gram a day, then more and more and more and more.

I told my parents about my problem and they were understanding and had me see numerous psychologist and psychiatrists, where i was put on so many different medications over the next 3 months, including Paxil, Zoloft, Prozac, Abilify, Trazadone, Wellbutrin, Buspar, Klonopin, Xanax, Ambien, and probably some more that I can't even remember. These medicines did nothing, and I always ended up using cocaine again. I didn't even use cocaine to get high; cocaine was simply the only anti-depressant that worked.