Thread: Pharm. Steve: Where to Fill Injectable Pain Meds?

Distinguished Community Member

Question Pharm. Steve: Where to Fill Injectable Pain Meds?

My pain doctor prescribes injectable Dilaudid for my severe intractable pain. I've been using it for several years and it works quite well for excruciating pain. My pain doc understands all of this. However, it has become increasingly difficult to find a pharmacy that stocks injectable pain meds or is willing/able to order them.

Hence my problem: I have a perfectly valid prescription from my pain doctor, but if pharmacists tell me they are unable to order the Dilaudid injectable, how am I supposed to get my medicine?

I'm in California. I used to go to 'W' chain pharmacy, which turned out to be a nightmare. Around 2009, they started to arbitrarily place limits on meds (separate from the FDA limits), insisted on 'status reports' from my doctor before they'd fill my meds, and more problems than I can list. My pain doc advised me to change pharmacies, and I did.

I now fill my meds at a grocery store pharmacy, and the service is a million times better than the way I was treated by 'W'.

The only med that I do not fill at my main pharmacy is the Dilaudid injectable. It seems that chain pharmacies do not want to stock or even order injectable pain meds, and if they do, they are subject to 'quantity limits' and other red tape. Or they can't get it from their distributor, etc.

I've been getting my Diluadid injectable at an independent pharmacy near my doctor, because indy pharmacies are apparently the only ones that will stock or order these meds.

However, I just found out that the indy pharmacy I've been going to for years is closing. Over the years, I've witnessed as one indy pharmacy after another has closed down. The last indy near me closed a few years ago. The indy I've been going to is 30 miles away, but it's worth the drive. They give me a 12-week supply, and I coordinate that with my doctor's visits.