Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is a nerve conduction test painful?

New Community Member

Default Is a nerve conduction test painful?

I have had pain in my arm for 9 months due to spinal stenosis from a disc fusion done in 1991. An EMG or nerve conduction test is advised. Is this a painful test on nerves that are already very sore?

2. The following user says "thanks"

Distinguished Community Member Earth Mother 2 Angels's Avatar
    Blog Entries

((((((Traveler)))))) ~

Welcome to BrainTalk!

I have no experience with nerve conduction tests, but I did find this:

http://www.emedicinehealth.com/elect...article_em.htm

You might be able to learn more about this test on You Tube. Try a search there for videos about the test.

Meanwhile, make yourself comfortable here, and get to know our wonderful community of caring folks. And be sure to let us know your test experience and what the results are.

Hoping all goes well for you, and you find relief from your pain.

Love & Light,

Rose
    Mom to Jon, 48, (seizure disorder; Gtube; trache; colostomy; osteoporosis; hypothyroid; enlarged prostate; lymphedema, assorted mysteries) and Michael, 32, (intractable seizures; Gtube), who were born with an undiagnosed progressive neuromuscular disease and courageous spirits. Our Angel Michael received his wings in 2003 and now resides in Heaven. Our Angel Jon lives at home with me and Jim, the world's most wonderful dad.

4. The following user says "thanks"

New Community Member

Thank you for the warm welcome. Has anyone had the disc surgery which later caused pain down the arm because of stenosis and what did they do for it ? I would rather not have surgery. I also have Parkinson's with the side effect of altered posture over time (forward bending) which may have altered alignment in the neck. (Just guessing.) I am 71.

6. The following user says "thanks"

Blog Entries

((((((Traveler)))))) ~